The Thing I Have For Baking…

Hi guys! Hope you are all doing well. Firstly, I’d like to thank all of you for the warm welcome into the blogging community! I’m really glad and humbled by your kindness!

With that being said, let’s see what today’s post is about shall we?!

large (1)

It all started when I was just 13. Err… love for baking I mean 😉 I showed a great interest towards baking; especially cakes and use to help my mother out in the kitchen whenever she baked. As a child I used to wonder how mixing up a few ingredients could create such soft and spongy, melt-in-the-mouth cakes…   My mom once told me that if you measured the ingredients and followed the steps accordingly, you could definitely make soft and spongy cakes! Yeah, simple as that.

I still remember the first batch of cupcakes I baked with my mom. They turned out quiet not up to expectation, but everyone said it looked & tasted really nice 🙂

DSC00185

Anyway, I kept baking just for fun and taught myself how to perfect it as an art. I used to browse for recipes and try them out. Once I started baking, I just couldn’t stop- so many recipes to try and so many flavor combinations to explore! I enjoyed making icing flowers and also mixing different colors of icing. Oh, and did I tell you how much I loved shopping for cupcake liners, sprinkles and other interesting ingredients?   

Baking for my family and friends is something that I loved. So I always took my baked goodies to school and got my friends to taste them. They really enjoyed the privilege of tasting a variety of cakes, cupcakes, cookies, brownies and much more… Well, who wouldn’t? 😀

DSC00010 DSC01564 DSC_0747 DSC00945

It was then I started baking for special occasions at home. The first icing cake that I made for my little cousin brother was one that I can never forget. That was my first attempt at piping icing on an entire cake! The piping took much longer than expected though! LOL XD I practically sank myself into my chair when all was done, and was just hoping that the little birthday boy would like the cake…

And yes, the birthday boy was excited to see the cake and loved the fact that it was a car cake!

DSC01036 

 Oh! I almost forgot to mention that it was a Victoria Sponge cake with vanilla Buttercream. 😉

Then the wheels in my little brain started spinning…  Why not run my own business? And so I decided on opening my very own cupcakery- ta da! I got help and advice from mom in deciding on the name of the business, the variety of cupcakes I intended to sell and also the pricing. The Cupcake Corner was born in 2010.

CupcakeCorner_SidebySide

I still remember my first Cupcake order. It was a batch of 12 vanilla cupcakes for one of my friends. I also opened a Facebook business page in order to let all the cupcake addicts out there to know that TCC could satisfy their craving!! 😉

Some pictures of my cupcake orders…

DSC_9622_1 DSC_0300 DSC_0421 20150523_121647 20150811_162439 20150523_114856

I ran my cupcake business for 5 years, but now I’ve taken a break from the business as I’ve been busy with a few other things. You could still check out my work on the Facebook page (the cupcake corner) 🙂

Well, so that’s how my undying love for baking began. Thank you so much for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed reading my post- don’t forget to drop a comment telling me what you thought of it! 🙂

Much Love;

519005826

Do follow me on Instagram and Facebook for post updates and more!  

© throughmyrosetingedglasses 2017. All content provided on this blog is property of Shahani/throughmyrosetingedglasses. Using the ideas, images and content without permission of the site’s author/owner, for any reason is strictly prohibited and considered as intended copyrights infringement.

6 thoughts on “The Thing I Have For Baking…

  1. I’ve been on the receiving end of your baked goodies, so anybody reading this can take my for it when I say Shyn bakes the bestest stuff ever! Seriously, guys, if these pics themselves don’t prove it, I don’t know what will.
    I still remember those passion-fruit glazed cupcakes (right?!) what you made for me. They were deeeeeeeeelicious! Hope you get The Cupcake Corner up and running again! Much love, Ruzaika @ The Regal Critiques ❤️‍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh! This is Amazing. You seriously need to make me some when I come there!
    (P.S. just wanted to stop by… 🙂 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

